The rules on data centers in New York
1 data center moratorium on file in New York, alongside 2 tracked policy events in the state. 73 large load interconnection requests are recorded here, totalling 17.3 GW. 2 interconnection deadlines bind projects in this state. As of 15 September 2026.
In plain words
New York has paused or restricted new data centers in at least one place. That is a decision by a government, not by us — the rulings are listed below with links. Meanwhile 73 big new power users have asked to connect here. See where they are in New York, or check your own address.
Every decision on file for New York
2 tracked
| Date | Level | What happened | Category | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| state | New York passes 1-year moratorium on new data centers over 20 MW (pending governor's signature) First statewide data-center moratorium to clear a legislature; awaiting signature as of mid-July 2026. source | moratorium | pending-signature | |
| state | NY PSC opens large-load proceeding: data centers to 'pay their fair share' Hochul-announced proceeding to set data-center rate treatment and protect ratepayers; NYISO simultaneously drafting large-load interconnection reforms. source | large-load-tariff | open |
Key dates for projects here
1 dated · next closes 2026-11-19 (ISONE)
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| ISONE | ISO-NE cluster request window Cluster study under OATT Schedules 22, 23 and 25. | 2026-11-19 | confirmed source |
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| NYISO | NYISO cluster request window Class Year deliverability construct plus the new cluster process. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
Federal decisions, which apply everywhere
6 items
| Date | What happened | Status |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-12 | DOE cancels all three remaining proposed NIETC transmission corridors Lake Erie–Canada, Southwestern Grid Connector, and Tribal Energy Access corridors cancelled; the federal corridor-designation framework is dead. State siting is now the whole game. source | final |
| 2026-06-18 | FERC §206 show-cause orders to all six RTOs on large-load integration (EL26-67 through EL26-72) Every RTO/ISO must justify or reform its large-load interconnection rules. PJM (EL26-67) responses due 2026-08-17; comments due 2026-09-16. Compliance filings will become a primary structured source of load-queue transparency. source | open |
| 2026-03-01 | FERC further guidance on co-located load interconnection (EL25-49 line of cases) Follow-on to the Talen–Susquehanna ISA rejection (ER24-2172) and the PJM co-location show-cause; sets the frame for behind-the-meter data centers at generators. source | open |
| 2026-02-12 | EIA-860S emergency-approved: state air-permit inventory of >1 MW backup generators New collection motivated by AI data centers; backup-genset permits are the best forthcoming government proxy for data-center locations. EIA also running voluntary DC pilot surveys in TX, WA, NoVA. source | in-effect |
| 2025-10-23 | FERC opens RM26-4: Interconnection of Large Loads to the Interstate Transmission System DOE §403 directive forced an expedited rulemaking on large-load interconnection (large load defined >20 MW). ANOPR concepts: 60-day studies, cost allocation, co-location reliability rules. source | open |
| 2024-05-13 | Order 2023/2023-A generator interconnection reform — cluster transitions ongoing All ISOs moved to cluster studies with readiness deposits; PJM transition cycles TC1/TC2, ISO-NE first cluster 2026, CAISO Cluster 15. Reshapes every queue metric on this dashboard. source | implementing |
Big new power users recorded in New York
73 requests
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants. Nobody is required to publish these, so what exists publicly is thin: this is what we hold, not what exists.
| Request | County | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| St. Lawrence Infrastructure 2 | St. Lawrence County | 1.9 GW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| 1 Gig Data Center East Fishkill, NY | Dutchess County | 1.0 GW | active | NYISO | DAT |
| NY-Route 9W Load Center | Greene County | 1.0 GW | active | NYISO | not stated |
| St. Lawrence Infrastructure 1 | St. Lawrence County | 860 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| Micron Fab 3 | Onondaga County | 606 MW | active | NYISO | not stated |
| Micron Fab 2 | Onondaga County | 576 MW | active | NYISO | M-CH |
| North East Data LLC Data Center | Niagara County | 500 MW | active | NYISO | DAT |
| White Pine Phase 1 | Onondaga County | 480 MW | active | NYISO | M-CH |
| Arsenal Data Site 1000 | St. Lawrence County | 467 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| North Country Data Center | St. Lawrence County | 435 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-CM |
| Incremental Load Request for Remington Factory Redevelopment | Herkimer County | 400 MW | active | NYISO | DAT |
| Patriot Forge | Tioga County | 350 MW | active | NYISO | DAT |
| WNY STAMP | Genesee County | 300 MW | active | NYISO | DAT |
| 580 STAMP load increase | Genesee County | 300 MW | active | NYISO | DAT |
| New York State Artificial Intelligence Data Center | St. Lawrence County | 300 MW | active | NYISO | not stated |
| Olean Digital Data Center | Cattaraugus County | 300 MW | active | NYISO | not stated |
| Data & Technology Campus | Erie County | 300 MW | active | NYISO | DAT |
| New York State Artificial Intelligence Data Center | St. Lawrence County | 300 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| Brookhaven Data Center | Suffolk County | 300 MW | active | NYISO | not stated |
| Ranalli SuperDC | Onondaga County | 270 MW | active | NYISO | DAT |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's own silence — these rows must not be described as data centers.
Which counties in New York this is happening in
top 10 by power requested
| County | Waiting to connect | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Suffolk County | 23 | 2.8 GW |
| Kings County | 7 | 2.7 GW |
| Dutchess County | 8 | 1.3 GW |
| Genesee County | 5 | 1.2 GW |
| Ulster County | 10 | 1.1 GW |
| Steuben County | 7 | 1.0 GW |
| Orange County | 6 | 970 MW |
| Franklin County | 6 | 950 MW |
| Chautauqua County | 6 | 881 MW |
| Jefferson County | 8 | 879 MW |
Before you commit to a site in New York
A county report puts the policy position, the queue and the deadlines for one county in a sourced PDF, with the date each figure was true on every page. The first one is free.
Get a free county report New York interconnection queue The deadline calendar