Data centers and new power in Orange County, NY
1.6 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Orange County, NY — 10 active requests. Typical wait: 1.1 years. 4 projects are built, 50 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Orange County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Orange County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Orange County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Orange County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
64 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by NYISO. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 4 | 692 MW | 6.2% |
| Still waiting | 10 | 1.6 GW | 15.6% |
| Withdrawn | 50 | 3.5 GW | 78.1% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Batteries | 9 | 1.6 GW |
| Solar | 1 | 20 MW |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| NYISO | NYISO cluster request window Class Year deliverability construct plus the new cluster process. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 15 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CPV Valley Energy Center | Other | 691 MW | completed | 2007-07 | NYISO |
| Wawayanda Energy Center | Natural gas | 500 MW | withdrawn | 1999-06 | NYISO |
| Roseton Energy Storage | Batteries | 330 MW | active | 2026-09 | NYISO |
| Sugar Loaf Energy Storage I | Batteries | 300 MW | active | 2024-10 | NYISO |
| Arch 5 | Batteries | 250 MW | active | 2026-07 | NYISO |
| Grateful Storage, LLC | Batteries | 250 MW | withdrawn | 2022-08 | NYISO |
| Arch Energy Storage | Batteries | 250 MW | withdrawn | 2023-06 | NYISO |
| Opal Storage Project | Batteries | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2021-11 | NYISO |
| Sugarloaf BESS | Batteries | 180 MW | withdrawn | 2023-06 | NYISO |
| Barrett Ridge Energy - PARs | Other | 168 MW | withdrawn | 2020-05 | NYISO |
| Arch 4 | Batteries | 150 MW | active | 2024-08 | NYISO |
| Farmhouse BESS | Batteries | 150 MW | active | 2024-08 | NYISO |
| Stewart Rock Energy Storage | Batteries | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2022-10 | NYISO |
| Farmhouse BESS | Batteries | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2022-12 | NYISO |
| Zulu BESS | Batteries | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2023-01 | NYISO |
Big new power users asking to connect
1 on record
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.
| Request | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orangeburg Expansion Phase 2 | 30 MW | active | NYISO | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.
How Orange County compares
#234 in the US · #3 in NY
Orange County ranks #234 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #3 of 57 in New York.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Suffolk County | 27 | 3.7 GW |
| Kings County | 8 | 3.1 GW |
| Ulster County | 11 | 1.3 GW |
| Steuben County | 8 | 1.3 GW |
| Dutchess County | 7 | 1.1 GW |
| Nassau County | 2 | 1.1 GW |
| Genesee County | 4 | 926 MW |
| Montgomery County | 7 | 890 MW |
Common questions about power in Orange County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Orange County, NY?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Orange County is 1.1 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 4 projects in Orange County have reached energization and 50 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Orange County, NY?
1.6 GW is currently requested across 10 active interconnection requests, and 692 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Orange County, NY a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our New York policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Orange County — NYISO — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Orange County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open Orange County on the map County reports All of New York