Data centers and new power in Allegheny County, PA
5 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Allegheny County, PA — 1 active requests. Typical wait: 5.9 years. 6 projects are built, 51 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Allegheny County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Allegheny County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Allegheny County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Allegheny County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
58 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by PJM. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 6 | 1.9 GW | 10.3% |
| Still waiting | 1 | 5 MW | 1.7% |
| Withdrawn | 51 | 4.4 GW | 87.9% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Solar | 1 | 5 MW |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| PJM | Dominion GS-5 (Virginia SCC PUR-2025-00058) - ESAs signed on or after this date carry the 14-year term From this date the GS-5 large-load tariff carries a 14-year minimum term, alongside the reported 85% of contracted transmission demand minimum and $1… | No date published yet | disputed source |
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 15 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Springdale CC II 138kV | Natural gas | 610 MW | completed | 2018-03 | PJM |
| Springdale 3, 4, 5 | Natural gas | 590 MW | completed | 2013-05 | PJM |
| Springdale 138kV | Coal | 580 MW | withdrawn | 2009-02 | PJM |
| Yukon-Robbins 138kV | Natural gas | 541 MW | withdrawn | 2015-05 | PJM |
| Springdale 138 kV | Natural gas | 525 MW | completed | 1999-01 | PJM |
| Black Oak 500 kV | Natural gas | 500 MW | withdrawn | 2001-02 | PJM |
| Springdale 138kV | Batteries | 356 MW | withdrawn | 2021-09 | PJM |
| Cheswick 138 kV | Batteries | 300 MW | withdrawn | 2022-09 | PJM |
| Brunot Island 138 kV | Natural gas | 295 MW | withdrawn | 2019-09 | PJM |
| Brunot Island 138 kV | Natural gas | 284 MW | withdrawn | 2020-03 | PJM |
| Mitchell - Shepler Hill 138kV | Not stated | 242 MW | withdrawn | 2007-01 | PJM |
| Imperial-Joffre 138 kV | Solar | 215 MW | withdrawn | 2020-09 | PJM |
| Dans Mountain | Wind | 125 MW | withdrawn | 2004-09 | PJM |
| Springdale CT III 138 kV | Batteries | 106 MW | withdrawn | 2020-09 | PJM |
| USAP-Woodville 138kV | Not stated | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2014-10 | PJM |
How Allegheny County compares
#1239 in the US · #39 in PA
Allegheny County ranks #1239 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #39 of 62 in Pennsylvania.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| York County | 6 | 2.9 GW |
| Clearfield County | 11 | 1.5 GW |
| Indiana County | 3 | 1.2 GW |
| Tioga County | 2 | 974 MW |
| Dauphin County | 3 | 896 MW |
| McKean County | 4 | 870 MW |
| Centre County | 5 | 591 MW |
| Fayette County | 4 | 310 MW |
Common questions about power in Allegheny County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Allegheny County, PA?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Allegheny County is 5.9 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 6 projects in Allegheny County have reached energization and 51 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Allegheny County, PA?
5 MW is currently requested across 1 active interconnection requests, and 1.9 GW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Allegheny County, PA a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Pennsylvania policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Allegheny County — PJM — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Allegheny County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open Allegheny County on the map County reports All of Pennsylvania