The rules on data centers in Oregon
1 tracked policy event in Oregon, 1 of them large-load tariff proceeding. 158 large load interconnection requests are recorded here, totalling 21.2 GW. As of 15 September 2026.
In plain words
Oregon is writing new rules about who pays for the power big data centers use. Nothing here bans them. Meanwhile 158 big new power users have asked to connect here. See where they are in Oregon, or check your own address.
Every decision on file for Oregon
1 tracked
| Date | Level | What happened | Category | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| state | Oregon POWER Act (HB 3546): separate rate class for large energy users Implementation dockets at Oregon PUC through 2026; template for data-center rate separation. source | large-load-tariff | implementing |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
Federal decisions, which apply everywhere
6 items
| Date | What happened | Status |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-12 | DOE cancels all three remaining proposed NIETC transmission corridors Lake Erie–Canada, Southwestern Grid Connector, and Tribal Energy Access corridors cancelled; the federal corridor-designation framework is dead. State siting is now the whole game. source | final |
| 2026-06-18 | FERC §206 show-cause orders to all six RTOs on large-load integration (EL26-67 through EL26-72) Every RTO/ISO must justify or reform its large-load interconnection rules. PJM (EL26-67) responses due 2026-08-17; comments due 2026-09-16. Compliance filings will become a primary structured source of load-queue transparency. source | open |
| 2026-03-01 | FERC further guidance on co-located load interconnection (EL25-49 line of cases) Follow-on to the Talen–Susquehanna ISA rejection (ER24-2172) and the PJM co-location show-cause; sets the frame for behind-the-meter data centers at generators. source | open |
| 2026-02-12 | EIA-860S emergency-approved: state air-permit inventory of >1 MW backup generators New collection motivated by AI data centers; backup-genset permits are the best forthcoming government proxy for data-center locations. EIA also running voluntary DC pilot surveys in TX, WA, NoVA. source | in-effect |
| 2025-10-23 | FERC opens RM26-4: Interconnection of Large Loads to the Interstate Transmission System DOE §403 directive forced an expedited rulemaking on large-load interconnection (large load defined >20 MW). ANOPR concepts: 60-day studies, cost allocation, co-location reliability rules. source | open |
| 2024-05-13 | Order 2023/2023-A generator interconnection reform — cluster transitions ongoing All ISOs moved to cluster studies with readiness deposits; PJM transition cycles TC1/TC2, ISO-NE first cluster 2026, CAISO Cluster 15. Reshapes every queue metric on this dashboard. source | implementing |
Big new power users recorded in Oregon
158 requests
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants. Nobody is required to publish these, so what exists publicly is thin: this is what we hold, not what exists.
| Request | County | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NW Hillsboro-North Plains Semiconductor Plants Project (Phase 2) | Washington County | 1.8 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Pacific West Coast Cable | Columbia County | 1.6 GW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| McNary 230 kV Substation | Linn County | 1.4 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| West Hillsboro Data Center Project (Phase 1) | Washington County | 1.4 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Industrial Load Phase 2 | Morrow County | 1.2 GW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| Cascade Renewable Transmission Project - HVDC | Wasco County | 1.1 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Sixmile Canyon 500kV Substation | Umatilla County | 1.1 GW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| Six Mile Canyon Substation | Umatilla County | 1.0 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Keeler Substation | Washington County | 1.0 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Longhorn 230 kV Substation | Linn County | 750 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Steelhead 230 kV | Morrow County | 600 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Lochner Substation | Linn County | 500 MW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| Morrow Flat_Longhorn | Umatilla County | 500 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Project Pivot and Specialized | Umatilla County | 484 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| McNary 230kV | Umatilla County | 450 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Stearns Lane | Washington County | 300 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Bonanza | Crook County | 300 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Network Load Expansion 4 Quenett Creek Substation | Wasco County | 300 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Ponderosa Substation | Crook County | 300 MW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| Network Load Expansion 3 | Wasco County | 300 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's own silence — these rows must not be described as data centers.
Which counties in Oregon this is happening in
top 10 by power requested
| County | Waiting to connect | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Sherman County | 25 | 10.0 GW |
| Wasco County | 18 | 8.6 GW |
| Morrow County | 22 | 6.6 GW |
| Crook County | 31 | 6.3 GW |
| Klamath County | 14 | 5.3 GW |
| Jefferson County | 21 | 4.2 GW |
| Umatilla County | 17 | 3.6 GW |
| Gilliam County | 15 | 3.2 GW |
| Lake County | 21 | 2.8 GW |
| Harney County | 10 | 2.5 GW |
Before you commit to a site in Oregon
A county report puts the policy position, the queue and the deadlines for one county in a sourced PDF, with the date each figure was true on every page. The first one is free.
Get a free county report Oregon interconnection queue The deadline calendar