Data centers and new power in Lake County, OR

2.8 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Lake County, OR — 20 active requests. Typical wait: 4.4 years. 7 projects are built, 87 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Lake County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Lake County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Lake County right now.

2.8 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
20 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 2.2 million homes use.
202 MW
has actually been built
7 projects switched on so far.
4.4 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 6%
  • Still waiting 17%
  • Withdrawn 75%
  • Paused 2%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Lake County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Solar 78%
  • Batteries 22%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

116 requests ever filed
Pending applications
20
of 116 ever filed
Capacity queued
2.8 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
202 MW
7 projects connected
Built vs decided
7.4%
87 withdrawn
Median wait
4.4 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
125 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA, PacifiCorp. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built7202 MW6.0%
Still waiting202.8 GW17.2%
Withdrawn8724.5 GW75.0%
Paused2—1.7%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Solar172.2 GW
Batteries3598 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0756Solar3.8 GWwithdrawn2022-06BPA
G0697Solar3.6 GWwithdrawn2021-09BPA
G1054Batteries1.3 GWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G0664Solar1.1 GWwithdrawn2020-12BPA
G1023Solar1.0 GWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G1024Solar1.0 GWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G0875Solar1.0 GWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
G0841Solar600 MWwithdrawn2023-02BPA
G0590Solar600 MWwithdrawn2018-05BPA
1040Solar600 MWwithdrawn2018-06PacifiCorp
18-071Solar600 MWwithdrawn2018-07PGE
22-119Solar600 MWwithdrawn2023-01PGE
22-113Solar560 MWwithdrawn2022-11PGE
289Wind501 MWwithdrawn2009-09PacifiCorp
G0871Wind500 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA

Big new power users asking to connect

2 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Lakeview System Transfer21 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Brothers Tap Upgrade14 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Lake County compares

#129 in the US · #9 in OR

Lake County ranks #129 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #9 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW

Common questions about power in Lake County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Lake County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Lake County is 4.4 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 7 projects in Lake County have reached energization and 87 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Lake County, OR?

2.8 GW is currently requested across 20 active interconnection requests, and 202 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Lake County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Lake County — BPA, PacifiCorp — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Lake County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Lake County on the map County reports All of Oregon