Data centers and new power in Crook County, OR

6.3 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Crook County, OR — 31 active requests. Typical wait: 4.5 years. 3 projects are built, 63 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Crook County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Crook County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Crook County right now.

6.3 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
31 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 5 million homes use.
157 MW
has actually been built
3 projects switched on so far.
4.5 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 3%
  • Still waiting 32%
  • Withdrawn 65%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Crook County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Solar 70%
  • Batteries 30%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

97 requests ever filed
Pending applications
31
of 97 ever filed
Capacity queued
6.3 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
157 MW
3 projects connected
Built vs decided
4.5%
63 withdrawn
Median wait
4.5 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
210 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA, PacifiCorp. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built3157 MW3.1%
Still waiting316.3 GW32.0%
Withdrawn6323.9 GW64.9%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Solar244.4 GW
Batteries71.9 GW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0695Batteries3.9 GWwithdrawn2021-09BPA
G0696Solar2.6 GWwithdrawn2021-09BPA
G0699Batteries1.8 GWwithdrawn2021-09BPA
G0675Solar1.8 GWactive2021-03BPA
G0698Solar1.8 GWwithdrawn2021-09BPA
G1053Batteries1.3 GWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G0702Solar1.2 GWwithdrawn2021-09BPA
G0700Solar1.2 GWwithdrawn2021-09BPA
G0701Solar1.2 GWwithdrawn2021-09BPA
G0663Solar1.1 GWwithdrawn2020-12BPA
G0673Solar608 MWwithdrawn2021-03BPA
G0674Solar600 MWwithdrawn2021-03BPA
G0669Solar600 MWactive2021-02BPA
G0642Batteries600 MWactive2020-02BPA
G0643Batteries600 MWactive2020-02BPA

Big new power users asking to connect

10 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Bonanza 300 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Ponderosa Substation300 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Sunbreak250 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Project Vitesse 2220 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Briones103 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
CEC POD at Ponderosa100 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Baldwin Data Center70 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Project Vitesse60 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Bonanza 115 kV50 MWactiveBPAnot stated
SW Highland Ave40 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Crook County compares

#37 in the US · #4 in OR

Crook County ranks #37 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #4 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW
Lake County202.8 GW

Common questions about power in Crook County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Crook County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Crook County is 4.5 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 3 projects in Crook County have reached energization and 63 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Crook County, OR?

6.3 GW is currently requested across 31 active interconnection requests, and 157 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Crook County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Crook County — BPA, PacifiCorp — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Crook County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Crook County on the map County reports All of Oregon