Data centers and new power in Umatilla County, OR
3.5 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Umatilla County, OR — 16 active requests. Typical wait: 3.7 years. 15 projects are built, 94 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Umatilla County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Umatilla County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Umatilla County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Umatilla County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
126 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by BPA, PacifiCorp. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 15 | 175 MW | 11.9% |
| Still waiting | 16 | 3.5 GW | 12.7% |
| Withdrawn | 94 | 13.1 GW | 74.6% |
| Paused | 1 | — | 0.8% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Solar | 10 | 2.6 GW |
| Batteries | 2 | 748 MW |
| Wind | 2 | 153 MW |
| Natural gas | 2 | 40 MW |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 15 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| G0777 | Solar | 1.4 GW | active | 2022-08 | BPA |
| Wanapa Energy Center | Natural gas | 1.0 GW | withdrawn | 2001-02 | BPA |
| G0965 | Batteries | 661 MW | withdrawn | 2023-10 | BPA |
| G0778 | Batteries | 661 MW | withdrawn | 2022-08 | BPA |
| G0854 | Wind | 600 MW | withdrawn | 2023-04 | BPA |
| G0813 | Solar | 600 MW | withdrawn | 2022-09 | BPA |
| 346 | Wind | 599 MW | withdrawn | 2010-07 | PacifiCorp |
| PG and E Generation | Natural gas | 581 MW | withdrawn | 2000-06 | BPA |
| G1088 | Batteries | 573 MW | active | 2025-12 | BPA |
| G0908 | Solar | 510 MW | active | 2023-07 | BPA |
| G0436 | Wind | 481 MW | withdrawn | 2010-09 | BPA |
| G0855 | Solar | 450 MW | withdrawn | 2023-04 | BPA |
| G0834 | Solar | 450 MW | withdrawn | 2022-12 | BPA |
| G0452 | Natural gas | 410 MW | withdrawn | 2011-05 | BPA |
| G1028 | Batteries | 400 MW | withdrawn | 2023-11 | BPA |
Big new power users asking to connect
10 on record
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.
| Request | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| McNary 230 kV Substation | 1.4 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Sixmile Canyon 500kV Substation | 1.1 GW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| Six Mile Canyon Substation | 1.0 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Morrow Flat_Longhorn | 500 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Project Pivot and Specialized | 484 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| McNary 230kV | 450 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Basalt 230 kV Load | 153 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| McNary-Badger Canyon | 100 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Boardman-Ione No. 1 69 kV Line Removal Project | 0 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Boardman to Hemingway Project | 0 MW | energized | BPA | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.
How Umatilla County compares
#88 in the US · #7 in OR
Umatilla County ranks #88 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #7 of 31 in Oregon.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Sherman County | 26 | 11.4 GW |
| Wasco County | 18 | 8.6 GW |
| Morrow County | 22 | 6.6 GW |
| Crook County | 31 | 6.3 GW |
| Klamath County | 13 | 5.0 GW |
| Jefferson County | 21 | 4.2 GW |
| Gilliam County | 14 | 3.2 GW |
| Lake County | 20 | 2.8 GW |
Common questions about power in Umatilla County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Umatilla County, OR?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Umatilla County is 3.7 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 15 projects in Umatilla County have reached energization and 94 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Umatilla County, OR?
3.5 GW is currently requested across 16 active interconnection requests, and 175 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Umatilla County, OR a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Umatilla County — BPA, PacifiCorp — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Umatilla County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open Umatilla County on the map County reports All of Oregon