Data centers and new power in Klamath County, OR

5.0 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Klamath County, OR — 13 active requests. Typical wait: 4.5 years. 17 projects are built, 151 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Klamath County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Klamath County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Klamath County right now.

5.0 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
13 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 4 million homes use.
490 MW
has actually been built
17 projects switched on so far.
4.5 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 9%
  • Still waiting 7%
  • Withdrawn 83%
  • Paused 1%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Klamath County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Solar 84%
  • Batteries 16%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

182 requests ever filed
Pending applications
13
of 182 ever filed
Capacity queued
5.0 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
490 MW
17 projects connected
Built vs decided
10.1%
151 withdrawn
Median wait
4.5 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
762 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA, PacifiCorp. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built17490 MW9.3%
Still waiting135.0 GW7.1%
Withdrawn15123.7 GW83.0%
Paused1—0.5%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Solar94.2 GW
Batteries4818 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0748Solar2.4 GWwithdrawn2022-06BPA
G0648Batteries1.4 GWwithdrawn2020-05BPA
C4-093Solar1.3 GWwithdrawn2024-05PacifiCorp
T2-082Solar1.3 GWactive2025-09PacifiCorp
Peoples Energy ResourcesNatural gas1.2 GWwithdrawn2001-10BPA
G0501Natural gas1.1 GWwithdrawn2014-10BPA
G1018Solar1.0 GWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G1019Solar1.0 GWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G1020Solar1.0 GWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G0657Solar1.0 GWactive2020-09BPA
Peoples Energy ResourcesGeothermal600 MWwithdrawn2002-02BPA
509Hydro600 MWwithdrawn2013-08PacifiCorp
G0826Solar573 MWactive2022-11BPA
G1017Solar500 MWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
10Natural gas500 MWwithdrawn2001-04PacifiCorp

Big new power users asking to connect

2 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
TC Energy 230 kV Intertie at Diamond Lake Junction12 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Ft Churchill-Captain Jack 525 kV line0 MWactiveBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Klamath County compares

#55 in the US · #5 in OR

Klamath County ranks #55 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #5 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW
Lake County202.8 GW

Common questions about power in Klamath County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Klamath County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Klamath County is 4.5 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 17 projects in Klamath County have reached energization and 151 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Klamath County, OR?

5.0 GW is currently requested across 13 active interconnection requests, and 490 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Klamath County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Klamath County — BPA, PacifiCorp — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Klamath County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Klamath County on the map County reports All of Oregon