Data centers and new power in Washington County, OR
1.3 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Washington County, OR — 5 active requests. Typical wait: 5.1 years. 1 projects are built, 14 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
How far is it from your house?
Meta-QTS Hillsboro 2, run by Meta, is in Washington County and uses about as much electricity as 144,000 homes.
49 public schools are within 5 miles of it, 2 within one mile. Counted from the facility, not from any home. School list: US Department of Education.
What is happening with electricity in Washington County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Washington County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Washington County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
20 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by PGE. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 1 | 200 MW | 5.0% |
| Still waiting | 5 | 1.3 GW | 25.0% |
| Withdrawn | 14 | 2.9 GW | 70.0% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Batteries | 5 | 1.3 GW |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 15 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 21-105 | Batteries | 800 MW | withdrawn | 2021-08 | PGE |
| 21-104 | Batteries | 400 MW | active | 2021-08 | PGE |
| 23-221 | Batteries | 400 MW | active | 2023-03 | PGE |
| 23-223 | Wind | 400 MW | withdrawn | 2023-03 | PGE |
| 20-082 | Batteries | 200 MW | completed | 2020-05 | PGE |
| 21-099 | Batteries | 200 MW | active | 2021-05 | PGE |
| 21-100 | Batteries | 200 MW | active | 2021-05 | PGE |
| 23-220 | Wind | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2023-03 | PGE |
| 24-246 | Batteries | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2024-05 | PGE |
| 24-249 | Batteries | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2024-05 | PGE |
| 24-254 | Batteries | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2024-05 | PGE |
| 24-256 | Batteries | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2024-05 | PGE |
| G0737 | Wind | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2022-04 | BPA |
| 16-059 | Batteries | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2016-08 | PGE |
| 22-108 | Batteries | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2022-02 | PGE |
Big new power users asking to connect
10 on record
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.
| Request | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NW Hillsboro-North Plains Semiconductor Plants Project (Phase 2) | 1.8 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| West Hillsboro Data Center Project (Phase 1) | 1.4 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Keeler Substation | 1.0 GW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Meadowlark Expansion | 180 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Lake Street Data Center | 108 MW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| Filbert Substation Meter Set | 75 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Forest Grove Substation Meter Set | 75 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Meadowlark | 36 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Thatcher Substation | 20 MW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| Forest Grove Substation | 5 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.
How Washington County compares
#293 in the US · #11 in OR
Washington County ranks #293 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #11 of 31 in Oregon.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Sherman County | 26 | 11.4 GW |
| Wasco County | 18 | 8.6 GW |
| Morrow County | 22 | 6.6 GW |
| Crook County | 31 | 6.3 GW |
| Klamath County | 13 | 5.0 GW |
| Jefferson County | 21 | 4.2 GW |
| Umatilla County | 16 | 3.5 GW |
| Gilliam County | 14 | 3.2 GW |
Common questions about power in Washington County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Washington County, OR?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Washington County is 5.1 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 1 projects in Washington County have reached energization and 14 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Washington County, OR?
1.3 GW is currently requested across 5 active interconnection requests, and 200 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Washington County, OR a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Washington County — PGE — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Washington County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open Washington County on the map County reports All of Oregon