Data centers and new power in Linn County, OR

0 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Linn County, OR — 0 active requests. 4 projects are built, 44 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Linn County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Linn County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Linn County right now.

0 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
0 projects asked. Not yet approved.
31 MW
has actually been built
4 projects switched on so far.
44
projects gave up
Withdrawn before being built. Normal nationally.

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 8%
  • Withdrawn 86%
  • Paused 6%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Linn County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

    By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

    All the numbers

    51 requests ever filed
    Pending applications
    0
    of 51 ever filed
    Capacity queued
    0 MW
    requested, not committed
    Already built
    31 MW
    4 projects connected
    Built vs decided
    8.3%
    44 withdrawn

    Source: interconnection queues published by the transmission providers serving this county. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

    Outcome of every request filed here

    OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
    Built431 MW7.8%
    Still waiting00 MW0.0%
    Withdrawn447.4 GW86.3%
    Paused3—5.9%

    Waiting to connect, by type of power

    Key dates for projects here

    no dated windows published
    QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
    FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
    Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
    No date published yetunconfirmed source
    FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
    Still at ANOPR stage.
    No date published yetconfirmed source
    FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
    A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
    No date published yetconfirmed source

    A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

    The biggest projects on file

    top 15 by size
    ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
    Duke Energy NANatural gas600 MWwithdrawn2002-01BPA
    G0905Biomass410 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0904Biomass410 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0899Biomass410 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0894Batteries410 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0895Batteries410 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0892Batteries410 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0893Batteries410 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0907Solar400 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0906Biomass400 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0903Biomass400 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0896Biomass400 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0897Biomass400 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    G0898Biomass400 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
    C1-20Solar199 MWsuspended2021-05PacifiCorp

    Big new power users asking to connect

    6 on record

    Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

    RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
    Lochner Substation500 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
    Airport Substation25 MWactiveBPAnot stated
    New Commercial Load17 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
    Harrisburg Substation 115 kV-12.47 kV14 MWactiveBPAnot stated
    Albany Lebanon10 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
    Lebanon Substation—withdrawnBPAnot stated

    Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

    How Linn County compares

    #1509 in the US · #30 in OR

    Linn County ranks #1509 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #30 of 31 in Oregon.

    CountyWaitingCapacity queued
    Sherman County2611.4 GW
    Wasco County188.6 GW
    Morrow County226.6 GW
    Crook County316.3 GW
    Klamath County135.0 GW
    Jefferson County214.2 GW
    Umatilla County163.5 GW
    Gilliam County143.2 GW

    Common questions about power in Linn County

    How long does it take to get power for a data center in Linn County, OR?

    We do not yet have a median wait for Linn County. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 4 projects in Linn County have reached energization and 44 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

    How much capacity is available in Linn County, OR?

    0 MW is currently requested across 0 active interconnection requests, and 31 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

    Is Linn County, OR a good site for a data center?

    This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

    Where does the data on this page come from?

    The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Linn County — the utilities in this area — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

    Go deeper on Linn County

    The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

    Open Linn County on the map County reports All of Oregon