Data centers and new power in Lane County, OR

36 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Lane County, OR — 6 active requests. Typical wait: 15.7 years. 1 projects are built, 25 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Lane County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Lane County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Lane County right now.

36 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
6 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 28,000 homes use.
7 MW
has actually been built
1 projects switched on so far.
15.7 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 3%
  • Still waiting 19%
  • Withdrawn 78%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Lane County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Biomass 62%
  • Natural gas 31%
  • Solar 7%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

32 requests ever filed
Pending applications
6
of 32 ever filed
Capacity queued
36 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
7 MW
1 projects connected
Built vs decided
3.8%
25 withdrawn
Median wait
15.7 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
284 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built17 MW3.1%
Still waiting636 MW18.8%
Withdrawn255.8 GW78.1%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Biomass222 MW
Natural gas111 MW
Solar32 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0812Batteries616 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G0811Biomass612 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
Coburg PowerNatural gas570 MWwithdrawn2001-04BPA
G0888Solar407 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
G0890Solar400 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
G0891Solar400 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
G0918Wind300 MWwithdrawn2023-08BPA
24Natural gas300 MWwithdrawn2003-06PacifiCorp
Frontier TechnologyNatural gas265 MWwithdrawn2001-03BPA
G0889Batteries204 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
G0803Batteries204 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G1046Batteries200 MWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G0810Biomass200 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G0971Biomass165 MWwithdrawn2023-10BPA
G0880Solar163 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA

Big new power users asking to connect

10 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Junction City90 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
University of Oregon Loads19 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Parker Substation13 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Saginaw Area12 MWactiveBPAnot stated
EWEB Holden Creek10 MWactiveBPAnot stated
CPI-EPUD Tie6 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Parker Substation Additional 4.3 MW4 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Junction City Substation2 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Mapleton 0 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Latham Substation Reliability Project0 MWactiveBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Lane County compares

#1195 in the US · #23 in OR

Lane County ranks #1195 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #23 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW

Common questions about power in Lane County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Lane County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Lane County is 15.7 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 1 projects in Lane County have reached energization and 25 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Lane County, OR?

36 MW is currently requested across 6 active interconnection requests, and 7 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Lane County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Lane County — BPA — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Lane County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Lane County on the map County reports All of Oregon