Data centers and new power in Hood River County, OR

234 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Hood River County, OR — 1 active requests. Typical wait: 2.9 years. 1 projects are built, 5 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Hood River County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Hood River County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Hood River County right now.

234 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
1 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 187,000 homes use.
5 MW
has actually been built
1 projects switched on so far.
2.9 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 14%
  • Still waiting 14%
  • Withdrawn 71%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Hood River County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Wind 100%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

7 requests ever filed
Pending applications
1
of 7 ever filed
Capacity queued
234 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
5 MW
1 projects connected
Built vs decided
16.7%
5 withdrawn
Median wait
2.9 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
8 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built15 MW14.3%
Still waiting1234 MW14.3%
Withdrawn5243 MW71.4%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Wind1234 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 7 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G1036Wind234 MWactive2023-11BPA
G0554Wind148 MWwithdrawn2016-10BPA
G0553Wind70 MWwithdrawn2016-08BPA
309Wind20 MWwithdrawn2009-12PacifiCorp
643Hydro5 MWcompleted2015-02PacifiCorp
279Hydro5 MWwithdrawn2009-06PacifiCorp
358Hydro0 MWwithdrawn2010-11PacifiCorp

Big new power users asking to connect

3 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Pyramid Substation14 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Hood River Loads5 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Oregon Mines4 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Hood River County compares

#869 in the US · #18 in OR

Hood River County ranks #869 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #18 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW

Common questions about power in Hood River County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Hood River County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Hood River County is 2.9 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 1 projects in Hood River County have reached energization and 5 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Hood River County, OR?

234 MW is currently requested across 1 active interconnection requests, and 5 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Hood River County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Hood River County — BPA — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Hood River County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Hood River County on the map County reports All of Oregon