Data centers and new power in Douglas County, OR

39 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Douglas County, OR — 2 active requests. Typical wait: 2.1 years. 4 projects are built, 27 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Douglas County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Douglas County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Douglas County right now.

39 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
2 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 31,000 homes use.
31 MW
has actually been built
4 projects switched on so far.
2.1 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 12%
  • Still waiting 6%
  • Withdrawn 82%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Douglas County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Natural gas 51%
  • Wind 49%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

33 requests ever filed
Pending applications
2
of 33 ever filed
Capacity queued
39 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
31 MW
4 projects connected
Built vs decided
12.9%
27 withdrawn
Median wait
2.1 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
268 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA, PacifiCorp. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built431 MW12.1%
Still waiting239 MW6.1%
Withdrawn274.1 GW81.8%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Natural gas120 MW
Wind119 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0808Batteries616 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G0806Biomass612 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G0807Solar610 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G0809Solar600 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G0996Solar400 MWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
G0801Batteries204 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G0805Biomass200 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
G0804Biomass200 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
C3-150Wind199 MWwithdrawn2023-05PacifiCorp
C3-188Wind120 MWwithdrawn2023-05PacifiCorp
C4-044Wind120 MWwithdrawn2024-05PacifiCorp
G0800Biomass80 MWwithdrawn2022-09BPA
292Other35 MWwithdrawn2009-09PacifiCorp
192Other30 MWwithdrawn2008-01PacifiCorp
327Other20 MWwithdrawn2010-03PacifiCorp

Big new power users asking to connect

6 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Stearns Lane300 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Gardiner Hydrogen Production Facility100 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Gardiner Substation30 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Lookingglass Substation20 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Gardiner-Reedsport8 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Gardiner Substation 13.8 kV to 12.47 kV0 MWenergizedBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Douglas County compares

#1194 in the US · #22 in OR

Douglas County ranks #1194 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #22 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW

Common questions about power in Douglas County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Douglas County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Douglas County is 2.1 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 4 projects in Douglas County have reached energization and 27 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Douglas County, OR?

39 MW is currently requested across 2 active interconnection requests, and 31 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Douglas County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Douglas County — BPA, PacifiCorp — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Douglas County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Douglas County on the map County reports All of Oregon