Data centers and new power in Fairfax city, VA
0 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Fairfax city, VA — 0 active requests. 2 projects are built, 6 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Fairfax city itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Fairfax city
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Fairfax city right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Fairfax city.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
8 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by the transmission providers serving this county. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 2 | 101 MW | 25.0% |
| Still waiting | 0 | 0 MW | 0.0% |
| Withdrawn | 6 | 770 MW | 75.0% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 8 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cedar Grove-Clifton 230kV | Not stated | 206 MW | withdrawn | 2011-05 | PJM |
| Cedar Grove-Clifton "B" 230kV | Not stated | 206 MW | withdrawn | 2011-06 | PJM |
| Clifton 230 kV | Batteries | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2021-03 | PJM |
| Reston 230 kV | Batteries | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2021-03 | PJM |
| Occoquan 230kV | Biomass | 98 MW | completed | 2007-05 | PJM |
| Occoquan 230kV | Biomass | 98 MW | withdrawn | 2021-09 | PJM |
| Occoquan 34.5kV | Solar | 10 MW | withdrawn | 2011-09 | PJM |
| Occoquan 34.5kV | Natural gas | 3 MW | completed | 2010-08 | PJM |
How Fairfax city compares
#1594 in the US · #70 in VA
Fairfax city ranks #1594 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #70 of 71 in Virginia.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Brunswick County | 9 | 3.4 GW |
| Fluvanna County | 3 | 2.6 GW |
| Sussex County | 7 | 2.5 GW |
| Greensville County | 4 | 1.9 GW |
| Chesterfield County | 9 | 1.5 GW |
| Charlotte County | 6 | 1.4 GW |
| Caroline County | 6 | 1.1 GW |
| Buckingham County | 4 | 996 MW |
Common questions about power in Fairfax city
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Fairfax city, VA?
We do not yet have a median wait for Fairfax city. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 2 projects in Fairfax city have reached energization and 6 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Fairfax city, VA?
0 MW is currently requested across 0 active interconnection requests, and 101 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Fairfax city, VA a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Virginia policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Fairfax city — the utilities in this area — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Fairfax city
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.