Data centers and new power in Sullivan County, IN

6.4 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Sullivan County, IN — 20 active requests. Typical wait: 4.1 years. 3 projects are built, 16 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Sullivan County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Sullivan County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Sullivan County right now.

6.4 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
20 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 5.1 million homes use.
650 MW
has actually been built
3 projects switched on so far.
4.1 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 8%
  • Still waiting 51%
  • Withdrawn 41%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Sullivan County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Natural gas 58%
  • Solar + battery 21%
  • Solar 20%
  • Batteries 1%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

39 requests ever filed
Pending applications
20
of 39 ever filed
Capacity queued
6.4 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
650 MW
3 projects connected
Built vs decided
15.8%
16 withdrawn
Median wait
4.1 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
1.5 GW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by MISO, PJM. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built3650 MW7.7%
Still waiting206.4 GW51.3%
Withdrawn1614.0 GW41.0%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Natural gas73.7 GW
Solar + battery51.4 GW
Solar71.3 GW
Batteries150 MW

Key dates for projects here

1 dated · next closes 2027-09-10 (MISO)
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
MISOMISO DPP-2026 Definitive Planning Phase application deadline
Attachment X of the tariff and BPM-015.
2027-09-10confirmed source
PJMDominion GS-5 (Virginia SCC PUR-2025-00058) - ESAs signed on or after this date carry the 14-year term
From this date the GS-5 large-load tariff carries a 14-year minimum term, alongside the reported 85% of contracted transmission demand minimum and $1…
No date published yetdisputed source
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
X3-028 Sullivan 345 kVNot stated3.5 GWwithdrawn2011-08PJM
Sullivan 345 kVNot stated2.5 GWwithdrawn2021-07PJM
Sullivan 345 kVNot stated2.0 GWwithdrawn2019-10PJM
Sullivan-Rockport 765 kVSolar1.2 GWwithdrawn2020-09PJM
Sullivan 345 kVNot stated1.0 GWwithdrawn2019-08PJM
Sullivan-Rockport 765 kVSolar900 MWwithdrawn2020-09PJM
Merom (HED) - Dresser 345.0kVNatural gas650 MWactive2024-04MISO
Merom (HED) - Dresser 345.0kVNatural gas642 MWactive2025-08MISO
Sullivan-Rockport 765 kVSolar600 MWwithdrawn2020-09PJM
Merom Primary - Worthington Primary 345.0kVSolar + battery560 MWactive2022-09MISO
Petersburg - Sullivan (AEP/PJM) 345.0kVNatural gas500 MWactive2025-05MISO
Sullivan 345kV #1Natural gas480 MWactive2015-10PJM
Sullivan 345kV #2Natural gas480 MWactive2015-10PJM
Petersburg - Sullivan (AEP/PJM) 345.0kVNatural gas470 MWactive2024-04MISO
Petersburg - Sullivan (AEP/PJM) 345.0kVNatural gas470 MWactive2025-05MISO

How Sullivan County compares

#33 in the US · #1 in IN

Sullivan County ranks #33 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #1 of 57 in Indiana.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Pulaski County103.2 GW
Vermillion County42.4 GW
White County132.1 GW
Fountain County41.4 GW
Blackford County71.3 GW
St. Joseph County41.2 GW
Greene County61.2 GW
Knox County7900 MW

Common questions about power in Sullivan County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Sullivan County, IN?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Sullivan County is 4.1 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 3 projects in Sullivan County have reached energization and 16 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Sullivan County, IN?

6.4 GW is currently requested across 20 active interconnection requests, and 650 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Sullivan County, IN a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Indiana policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Sullivan County — MISO, PJM — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Sullivan County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Sullivan County on the map County reports All of Indiana