The rules on data centers in Nevada
1 data center moratorium on file in Nevada, alongside 1 tracked policy event in the state. 4 large load interconnection requests are recorded here, totalling 289 MW. 1 interconnection deadlines bind projects in this state. As of 15 September 2026.
In plain words
Nevada has paused or restricted new data centers in at least one place. That is a decision by a government, not by us — the rulings are listed below with links. Meanwhile 4 big new power users have asked to connect here. See where they are in Nevada, or check your own address.
Every decision on file for Nevada
1 tracked
| Date | Level | What happened | Category | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| local | Reno, NV extends data-center moratorium into 2027 Extension of existing pause in a major growth market. source | moratorium | in-effect |
Key dates for projects here
1 dated · next closes 2026-10-15 (CAISO)
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| CAISO | CAISO Cluster 16 interconnection request window Interconnection requests submitted through the GRIP portal. | 2026-10-15 | confirmed source |
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
Federal decisions, which apply everywhere
6 items
| Date | What happened | Status |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-12 | DOE cancels all three remaining proposed NIETC transmission corridors Lake Erie–Canada, Southwestern Grid Connector, and Tribal Energy Access corridors cancelled; the federal corridor-designation framework is dead. State siting is now the whole game. source | final |
| 2026-06-18 | FERC §206 show-cause orders to all six RTOs on large-load integration (EL26-67 through EL26-72) Every RTO/ISO must justify or reform its large-load interconnection rules. PJM (EL26-67) responses due 2026-08-17; comments due 2026-09-16. Compliance filings will become a primary structured source of load-queue transparency. source | open |
| 2026-03-01 | FERC further guidance on co-located load interconnection (EL25-49 line of cases) Follow-on to the Talen–Susquehanna ISA rejection (ER24-2172) and the PJM co-location show-cause; sets the frame for behind-the-meter data centers at generators. source | open |
| 2026-02-12 | EIA-860S emergency-approved: state air-permit inventory of >1 MW backup generators New collection motivated by AI data centers; backup-genset permits are the best forthcoming government proxy for data-center locations. EIA also running voluntary DC pilot surveys in TX, WA, NoVA. source | in-effect |
| 2025-10-23 | FERC opens RM26-4: Interconnection of Large Loads to the Interstate Transmission System DOE §403 directive forced an expedited rulemaking on large-load interconnection (large load defined >20 MW). ANOPR concepts: 60-day studies, cost allocation, co-location reliability rules. source | open |
| 2024-05-13 | Order 2023/2023-A generator interconnection reform — cluster transitions ongoing All ISOs moved to cluster studies with readiness deposits; PJM transition cycles TC1/TC2, ISO-NE first cluster 2026, CAISO Cluster 15. Reshapes every queue metric on this dashboard. source | implementing |
Big new power users recorded in Nevada
4 requests
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants. Nobody is required to publish these, so what exists publicly is thin: this is what we hold, not what exists.
| Request | County | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lithium Nevada | Humboldt County | 143 MW | energized | BPA | not stated |
| Denio Junction 139 MW | Humboldt County | 139 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Long Canyon | West Wendover | 7 MW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| West Wendover | West Wendover | 0 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's own silence — these rows must not be described as data centers.
Which counties in Nevada this is happening in
top 10 by power requested
| County | Waiting to connect | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Clark County | 57 | 15.5 GW |
| Nye County | 13 | 4.9 GW |
| Churchill County | 15 | 4.1 GW |
| Humbolt | 12 | 3.0 GW |
| Story | 7 | 3.0 GW |
| Lyon County | 11 | 2.9 GW |
| Washoe County | 12 | 2.9 GW |
| Esmerelda | 9 | 2.7 GW |
| White Pine County | 5 | 1.8 GW |
| Lincoln County | 2 | 1.2 GW |
Before you commit to a site in Nevada
A county report puts the policy position, the queue and the deadlines for one county in a sourced PDF, with the date each figure was true on every page. The first one is free.
Get a free county report Nevada interconnection queue The deadline calendar