The rules on data centers in Idaho

We hold no state-level policy event for Idaho. That is our coverage, not a finding: it means nothing has crossed our sources, not that nothing is happening. 24 large load interconnection requests are recorded here, totalling 307 MW. As of 15 September 2026.

In plain words

Nothing has reached us about Idaho changing its rules for data centers. That means nothing has crossed our sources — not that nothing is happening. Meanwhile 24 big new power users have asked to connect here. See where they are in Idaho, or check your own address.

Decisions on file
0
bans, new charges, siting rules
Big new power users
24
307 MW
Counties involved
27
with power on the waiting list
Who runs the grid here
Avista, BPA, IP, PacifiCorp
read from county coverage

What is on file for Idaho

Nothing state-specific for Idaho has reached our sources. Our policy tracking is deliberately narrow — moratoriums, large-load tariffs, siting rules and interconnection reform — and it is not a substitute for a legislative tracking service. If you know of something we should hold, tell us and it goes in with its source.

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

Federal decisions, which apply everywhere

6 items
DateWhat happenedStatus
2026-08-12DOE cancels all three remaining proposed NIETC transmission corridors
Lake Erie–Canada, Southwestern Grid Connector, and Tribal Energy Access corridors cancelled; the federal corridor-designation framework is dead. State siting is now the whole game. source
final
2026-06-18FERC §206 show-cause orders to all six RTOs on large-load integration (EL26-67 through EL26-72)
Every RTO/ISO must justify or reform its large-load interconnection rules. PJM (EL26-67) responses due 2026-08-17; comments due 2026-09-16. Compliance filings will become a primary structured source of load-queue transparency. source
open
2026-03-01FERC further guidance on co-located load interconnection (EL25-49 line of cases)
Follow-on to the Talen–Susquehanna ISA rejection (ER24-2172) and the PJM co-location show-cause; sets the frame for behind-the-meter data centers at generators. source
open
2026-02-12EIA-860S emergency-approved: state air-permit inventory of >1 MW backup generators
New collection motivated by AI data centers; backup-genset permits are the best forthcoming government proxy for data-center locations. EIA also running voluntary DC pilot surveys in TX, WA, NoVA. source
in-effect
2025-10-23FERC opens RM26-4: Interconnection of Large Loads to the Interstate Transmission System
DOE §403 directive forced an expedited rulemaking on large-load interconnection (large load defined >20 MW). ANOPR concepts: 60-day studies, cost allocation, co-location reliability rules. source
open
2024-05-13Order 2023/2023-A generator interconnection reform — cluster transitions ongoing
All ISOs moved to cluster studies with readiness deposits; PJM transition cycles TC1/TC2, ISO-NE first cluster 2026, CAISO Cluster 15. Reshapes every queue metric on this dashboard. source
implementing

Big new power users recorded in Idaho

24 requests

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants. Nobody is required to publish these, so what exists publicly is thin: this is what we hold, not what exists.

RequestCountyCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Industrial ParkKootenai County120 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Thompson Creek Mine LoadCuster County28 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Elmore County SFBRDElmore County27 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Starrh Transformer ReplacementCassia County21 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
L0518 Pacific Substation TransformerCassia County21 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
New Midway SubstationTeton County14 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Bridge SubstationCassia County10 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Liberty GoldCassia County10 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Sand Creek SubstationBonner County9 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Drummond-Macks Inn 46 kV to 115 kV ConversionFremont County8 MWactiveBPAnot stated
United Electric Line TapCassia County8 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
NLI New Naples ServiceBoundary County7 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Rural SubstationMinidoka County7 MWactiveBPAnot stated
East Hills SubstationCassia County7 MWactiveBPAnot stated
West Burley LoadsTeton County5 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Burley LoadsTeton County5 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Targhee SubstationTeton County0 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Pacific Ethnanol TapCassia County0 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Bridge SubstationCassia CountywithdrawnBPAnot stated
Bridge SubstationCassia CountywithdrawnBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's own silence — these rows must not be described as data centers.

Which counties in Idaho this is happening in

top 10 by power requested
CountyWaiting to connectCapacity queued
Elmore County102.5 GW
Ada County112.0 GW
Bingham County81.8 GW
Power County41.6 GW
Owyhee County5993 MW
Canyon County4594 MW
Jerome County2320 MW
Bannock County2301 MW
Kootenai County4255 MW
Bonneville County2211 MW

Before you commit to a site in Idaho

A county report puts the policy position, the queue and the deadlines for one county in a sourced PDF, with the date each figure was true on every page. The first one is free.

Get a free county report Idaho interconnection queue The deadline calendar