Data centers and new power in Bonneville County, ID

211 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Bonneville County, ID — 2 active requests. Typical wait: 10.9 years. 3 projects are built, 25 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Bonneville County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Bonneville County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Bonneville County right now.

211 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
2 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 168,000 homes use.
309 MW
has actually been built
3 projects switched on so far.
10.9 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 10%
  • Still waiting 7%
  • Withdrawn 83%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Bonneville County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Wind 100%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

30 requests ever filed
Pending applications
2
of 30 ever filed
Capacity queued
211 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
309 MW
3 projects connected
Built vs decided
10.7%
25 withdrawn
Median wait
10.9 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
611 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA, PacifiCorp. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built3309 MW10.0%
Still waiting2211 MW6.7%
Withdrawn253.6 GW83.3%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Wind2211 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
563Wind950 MWwithdrawn2019-08IP
C2-73Solar350 MWwithdrawn2022-05PacifiCorp
C1-49Wind308 MWwithdrawn2021-05PacifiCorp
G0967Solar300 MWwithdrawn2023-10BPA
398-BWind288 MWwithdrawn2011-08PacifiCorp
C4-090Solar199 MWwithdrawn2024-05PacifiCorp
C4-091Solar199 MWwithdrawn2024-05PacifiCorp
398-AWind192 MWwithdrawn2011-08PacifiCorp
C2-91Wind153 MWactive2022-05PacifiCorp
PIS022Wind153 MWwithdrawn2022-06PacifiCorp
29-BWind124 MWcompleted2003-09PacifiCorp
341Wind120 MWcompleted2010-06PacifiCorp
C2-166Solar107 MWwithdrawn2022-05PacifiCorp
PIS007Solar107 MWwithdrawn2022-05PacifiCorp
243Wind65 MWwithdrawn2008-11PacifiCorp

Big new power users asking to connect

2 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Westside Phase II—withdrawnBPAnot stated
North Loop—activeBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Bonneville County compares

#892 in the US · #10 in ID

Bonneville County ranks #892 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #10 of 27 in Idaho.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Elmore County102.5 GW
Ada County112.0 GW
Bingham County81.8 GW
Power County41.6 GW
Owyhee County5993 MW
Canyon County4594 MW
Jerome County2320 MW
Bannock County2301 MW

Common questions about power in Bonneville County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Bonneville County, ID?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Bonneville County is 10.9 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 3 projects in Bonneville County have reached energization and 25 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Bonneville County, ID?

211 MW is currently requested across 2 active interconnection requests, and 309 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Bonneville County, ID a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Idaho policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Bonneville County — BPA, PacifiCorp — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Bonneville County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Bonneville County on the map County reports All of Idaho