Data centers and new power in Columbia County, WA

557 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Columbia County, WA — 4 active requests. Typical wait: 19.2 years. 2 projects are built, 12 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Columbia County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Columbia County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Columbia County right now.

557 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
4 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 446,000 homes use.
234 MW
has actually been built
2 projects switched on so far.
19.2 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 11%
  • Still waiting 22%
  • Withdrawn 67%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Columbia County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Wind 73%
  • Solar 27%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

18 requests ever filed
Pending applications
4
of 18 ever filed
Capacity queued
557 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
234 MW
2 projects connected
Built vs decided
14.3%
12 withdrawn
Median wait
19.2 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
1.5 GW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built2234 MW11.1%
Still waiting4557 MW22.2%
Withdrawn121.9 GW66.7%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Wind3407 MW
Solar1150 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0299Wind300 MWwithdrawn2007-11BPA
G0298Wind300 MWwithdrawn2007-11BPA
300MW Lower Monumental-StarbuckWind300 MWwithdrawn2001-09BPA
Lower Snake Phase 1Wind250 MWactive2007-08BPA
G1070Solar220 MWwithdrawn2024-08BPA
122Wind211 MWcompleted2007-02PacifiCorp
G0847Solar150 MWactive2023-02BPA
Hopkins Ridge WindWind150 MWactive2002-05BPA
119Solar150 MWwithdrawn2021-08PSE
137Solar150 MWwithdrawn2022-11PSE
13Wind140 MWwithdrawn2001-09PacifiCorp
115Wind140 MWwithdrawn2021-08PSE
XXSolar92 MWwithdrawn2018-08PSE
14Wind70 MWwithdrawn2001-09PacifiCorp
115Wind40 MWwithdrawn2006-12PacifiCorp

Big new power users asking to connect

10 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
CAC Green H2 Facility1.6 GWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
PARS - Clatskanie 680 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Starbuck 500 MW500 MWactiveBPAnot stated
PW1 & PW2 PARS250 MWactiveBPAnot stated
PARS - Betsy Johnson Substation (POD 4514)240 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Rainier PARS105 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Forge Ahead 105 MW100 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Armstrong Project99 MWactiveBPAnot stated
PARS - St. Helens Substation (POD 3043)70 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Dutch Canyon Substation50 MWenergizedBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Columbia County compares

#579 in the US · #15 in WA

Columbia County ranks #579 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #15 of 30 in Washington.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Benton County2010.9 GW
Yakima County146.5 GW
Klickitat County236.2 GW
Douglas County83.6 GW
Grant County123.5 GW
Lincoln County92.0 GW
Lewis County41.6 GW
Spokane County11973 MW

Common questions about power in Columbia County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Columbia County, WA?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Columbia County is 19.2 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 2 projects in Columbia County have reached energization and 12 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Columbia County, WA?

557 MW is currently requested across 4 active interconnection requests, and 234 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Columbia County, WA a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Washington policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Columbia County — BPA — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Columbia County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Columbia County on the map County reports All of Washington