Data centers and new power in Benton County, WA

10.9 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Benton County, WA — 20 active requests. Typical wait: 4.2 years. 8 projects are built, 41 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Benton County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Benton County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Benton County right now.

10.9 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
20 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 8.7 million homes use.
1.7 GW
has actually been built
8 projects switched on so far.
4.2 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 11%
  • Still waiting 29%
  • Withdrawn 59%
  • Paused 1%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Benton County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Solar 85%
  • Nuclear 12%
  • Wind 3%
  • Batteries 0%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

70 requests ever filed
Pending applications
20
of 70 ever filed
Capacity queued
10.9 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
1.7 GW
8 projects connected
Built vs decided
16.3%
41 withdrawn
Median wait
4.2 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
1.3 GW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built81.7 GW11.4%
Still waiting2010.9 GW28.6%
Withdrawn4113.7 GW58.6%
Paused1—1.4%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Solar139.2 GW
Nuclear21.3 GW
Wind3328 MW
Batteries250 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0822Solar4.1 GWactive2022-11BPA
G0869Nuclear2.2 GWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
1300MW Sickler-SchultzNatural gas1.3 GWwithdrawn2001-05BPA
G0688Solar1.1 GWactive2021-08BPA
G0998Nuclear1.1 GWactive2023-11BPA
G0670Solar1.0 GWactive2021-02BPA
G0920Solar821 MWactive2023-08BPA
G1039Solar820 MWactive2023-11BPA
G0928Solar750 MWwithdrawn2023-09BPA
G0927Solar750 MWwithdrawn2023-09BPA
G0926Solar750 MWwithdrawn2023-09BPA
G0684Solar705 MWcompleted2021-07BPA
700MW Sickler-SchultzNatural gas700 MWwithdrawn2001-05BPA
G0930Solar650 MWwithdrawn2023-09BPA
G1040Solar615 MWactive2023-11BPA

Big new power users asking to connect

10 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
DOE Data Center2.8 GWactiveBPAnot stated
Plymouth 950 MW950 MWactiveBPAnot stated
West Richland Data Center Campus912 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Plymouth Data Center Campus864 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Wind River - Plymouth 230 kV800 MWactiveBPAnot stated
GLP Data Center600 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Atlas Agro350 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Atlas Agro Data Server Facility, Phase 2300 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Atlas Agro Data Server Facility300 MWactiveBPAnot stated
ATP TES Data Server250 MWactiveBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Benton County compares

#8 in the US · #1 in WA

Benton County ranks #8 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #1 of 30 in Washington.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Yakima County146.5 GW
Klickitat County236.2 GW
Douglas County83.6 GW
Grant County123.5 GW
Lincoln County92.0 GW
Lewis County41.6 GW
Spokane County11973 MW
Adams County9920 MW

Common questions about power in Benton County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Benton County, WA?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Benton County is 4.2 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 8 projects in Benton County have reached energization and 41 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Benton County, WA?

10.9 GW is currently requested across 20 active interconnection requests, and 1.7 GW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Benton County, WA a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Washington policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Benton County — BPA — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Benton County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Benton County on the map County reports All of Washington