Data centers and new power in South Dakota

8.5 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in South Dakota — 41 requests across 19 counties. That is the 38th largest amount of any state. 50 projects are built, 188 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in South Dakota

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in South Dakota right now.

8.5 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
41 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 6.8 million homes use.
3.2 GW
has actually been built
50 projects switched on so far.
188
projects gave up
Withdrawn before being built. Normal nationally.

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 18%
  • Still waiting 15%
  • Withdrawn 67%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for South Dakota.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Wind 31%
  • Solar 29%
  • Natural gas 17%
  • Coal 15%
  • Solar + battery 5%
  • Not stated 3%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

279 requests ever filed
Waiting to connect
41
of 279 ever filed
Capacity requested
8.5 GW
asked for, not approved
Already built
3.2 GW
50 switched on
Built vs decided
21.0%
188 withdrawn
Counties involved
19
with five or more requests
Big new power users
none recorded
0 requests

Source: the interconnection queues of every transmission provider operating in South Dakota. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Wind142.7 GW
Solar102.4 GW
Natural gas61.4 GW
Coal61.3 GW
Solar + battery2412 MW
Not stated3278 MW

Who runs the waiting list in South Dakota

Grid operator or utilityRequestsCapacity pending
MISO464.1 GW
BHP222.5 GW
SPP681.2 GW
WAPA-IS122602 MW
NWMT178 MW
PJM40 MW

Counties in South Dakota

19 with power on the waiting list

Every county with at least five requests on file. Open one to check an address, or see the schools near any mapped data center.

CountyWaitingCapacity queuedAlready built
Campbell County102.1 GW99 MW
Deuel County21.3 GW251 MW
Brookings County2980 MW308 MW
Grant County2500 MW0 MW
McPherson County2400 MW0 MW
Brown County3374 MW384 MW
Day County1300 MW0 MW
Bon Homme County1200 MW410 MW
Clark County1200 MW46 MW
Codington County1120 MW128 MW
Pennington County1115 MW204 MW
Meade County2100 MW0 MW
Beadle County22 MW62 MW
Buffalo County00 MW40 MW
Hand County00 MW50 MW
Hyde County00 MW450 MW
Jerauld County00 MW243 MW
Stanley County00 MW8 MW
Todd County00 MW0 MW

Key dates for projects here

1 dated · next closes 2027-09-10 (MISO)
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
MISOMISO DPP-2026 Definitive Planning Phase application deadline
Attachment X of the tariff and BPM-015.
2027-09-10confirmed source
PJMDominion GS-5 (Virginia SCC PUR-2025-00058) - ESAs signed on or after this date carry the 14-year term
From this date the GS-5 large-load tariff carries a 14-year minimum term, alongside the reported 85% of contracted transmission demand minimum and $1…
No date published yetdisputed source
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source
SPPSPP 2028 CPP Interconnection Cluster Study (ICS) application window
Definitive Interconnection System Impact Study cluster, post Order 2023 compliance.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

Live in South Dakota?

Check how far the nearest large data center is from your own address. Free, and your address is not stored.

Check my address Open the map All states