Data centers and new power in Muskegon County, MI
425 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Muskegon County, MI — 4 active requests. Typical wait: 1.8 years. 3 projects are built, 7 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Muskegon County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Muskegon County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Muskegon County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Muskegon County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
14 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by MISO. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 3 | 450 MW | 21.4% |
| Still waiting | 4 | 425 MW | 28.6% |
| Withdrawn | 7 | 1.0 GW | 50.0% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Solar | 3 | 300 MW |
| Not stated | 1 | 125 MW |
Key dates for projects here
1 dated · next closes 2027-09-10 (MISO)
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| MISO | MISO DPP-2026 Definitive Planning Phase application deadline Attachment X of the tariff and BPM-015. | 2027-09-10 | confirmed source |
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 14 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| White Road - Four Mile 138kV line | Solar | 250 MW | completed | 2020-06 | MISO |
| Rogers 138 kV Substation | Solar | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2024-04 | MISO |
| Grassmere 345kV | Solar | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2020-06 | MISO |
| KENOWA - LUDINGTON 345.0kV | Wind | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2025-02 | MISO |
| FOUR MILE - WHITE ROAD 138.0kV | Solar | 150 MW | active | 2024-04 | MISO |
| Kenowa - Ludington 345 kV Line Tap | Solar | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2019-04 | MISO |
| BC Cobb - Four Mile 138kV Line | Solar | 147 MW | withdrawn | 2016-06 | MISO |
| DU PONT - WHITE LAKE 138.0kV | Not stated | 125 MW | active | 2026-03 | MISO |
| Kenowa - Ludington 345 kV Line Tap | Wind | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2017-06 | MISO |
| Du Pont to Cobb 138 KV (J1375 POI) | Solar | 100 MW | completed | 2020-06 | MISO |
| Du Pont - Cobb -White Lake 138kv | Solar | 100 MW | completed | 2019-04 | MISO |
| DU PONT - WHITE LAKE 138.0kV | Solar | 100 MW | active | 2025-01 | MISO |
| DU PONT - WHITE LAKE 138.0kV | Solar | 50 MW | active | 2025-01 | MISO |
| Kenowa - Ludington 345 kV Line Tap | Wind | 25 MW | withdrawn | 2019-04 | MISO |
How Muskegon County compares
#680 in the US · #29 in MI
Muskegon County ranks #680 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #29 of 42 in Michigan.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Monroe County | 7 | 3.9 GW |
| Huron County | 16 | 3.6 GW |
| Livingston County | 6 | 2.3 GW |
| Branch County | 7 | 2.3 GW |
| Van Buren County | 11 | 2.3 GW |
| Washtenaw County | 7 | 2.2 GW |
| Saginaw County | 10 | 1.8 GW |
| Genesee County | 4 | 1.4 GW |
Common questions about power in Muskegon County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Muskegon County, MI?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Muskegon County is 1.8 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 3 projects in Muskegon County have reached energization and 7 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Muskegon County, MI?
425 MW is currently requested across 4 active interconnection requests, and 450 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Muskegon County, MI a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Michigan policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Muskegon County — MISO — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Muskegon County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open Muskegon County on the map County reports All of Michigan