Data centers and new power in Gratiot County, MI
325 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Gratiot County, MI — 3 active requests. Typical wait: 2.5 years. 4 projects are built, 7 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Gratiot County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Gratiot County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Gratiot County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Gratiot County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
14 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by MISO. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 4 | 392 MW | 28.6% |
| Still waiting | 3 | 325 MW | 21.4% |
| Withdrawn | 7 | 965 MW | 50.0% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Solar | 3 | 325 MW |
Key dates for projects here
1 dated · next closes 2027-09-10 (MISO)
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| MISO | MISO DPP-2026 Definitive Planning Phase application deadline Attachment X of the tariff and BPM-015. | 2027-09-10 | confirmed source |
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 14 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NELSON ROAD | Solar | 220 MW | withdrawn | 2024-04 | MISO |
| Alma - Vestaburg 138kV Line Tap | Wind | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2018-03 | MISO |
| Nelson Road – Murphy 345kV line | Wind | 200 MW | completed | 2018-03 | MISO |
| NELSON ROAD | Solar | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2024-04 | MISO |
| ALMA - VESTABURG 138.0kV | Solar + battery | 175 MW | withdrawn | 2025-02 | MISO |
| ALMA - VESTABURG 138.0kV | Solar | 125 MW | active | 2024-04 | MISO |
| REGAL | Solar | 100 MW | active | 2024-04 | MISO |
| REGAL | Solar | 100 MW | active | 2021-11 | MISO |
| Slate Substation 345kV | Not stated | 100 MW | completed | 2022-04 | MISO |
| Slate 345 kV Sub (256573) | Not stated | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2021-10 | MISO |
| Luce Substation | Not stated | 80 MW | completed | 2022-04 | MISO |
| Redstone138 kV Sub(256542) | Not stated | 50 MW | withdrawn | 2021-10 | MISO |
| Redstone 138 kV Substation | Solar | 20 MW | withdrawn | 2016-11 | MISO |
| J589 138kV Substation (Regal - Summerton 138kV Line) | Wind | 12 MW | completed | 2017-06 | MISO |
How Gratiot County compares
#752 in the US · #31 in MI
Gratiot County ranks #752 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #31 of 42 in Michigan.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Monroe County | 7 | 3.9 GW |
| Huron County | 16 | 3.6 GW |
| Livingston County | 6 | 2.3 GW |
| Branch County | 7 | 2.3 GW |
| Van Buren County | 11 | 2.3 GW |
| Washtenaw County | 7 | 2.2 GW |
| Saginaw County | 10 | 1.8 GW |
| Genesee County | 4 | 1.4 GW |
Common questions about power in Gratiot County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Gratiot County, MI?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Gratiot County is 2.5 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 4 projects in Gratiot County have reached energization and 7 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Gratiot County, MI?
325 MW is currently requested across 3 active interconnection requests, and 392 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Gratiot County, MI a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Michigan policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Gratiot County — MISO — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Gratiot County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open Gratiot County on the map County reports All of Michigan