Data centers and new power in Minnesota

18.7 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Minnesota — 104 requests across 24 counties. That is the 25th largest amount of any state. 30 projects are built, 164 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Minnesota

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Minnesota right now.

18.7 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
104 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 15 million homes use.
3.4 GW
has actually been built
30 projects switched on so far.
164
projects gave up
Withdrawn before being built. Normal nationally.

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 10%
  • Still waiting 35%
  • Withdrawn 55%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Minnesota.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Solar 70%
  • Wind 21%
  • Not stated 6%
  • Solar + battery 3%
  • Natural gas 0%
  • Hydro 0%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

298 requests ever filed
Waiting to connect
104
of 298 ever filed
Capacity requested
18.7 GW
asked for, not approved
Already built
3.4 GW
30 switched on
Built vs decided
15.5%
164 withdrawn
Counties involved
24
with five or more requests
Big new power users
none recorded
0 requests

Source: the interconnection queues of every transmission provider operating in Minnesota. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Solar6913.1 GW
Wind193.9 GW
Not stated81.1 GW
Solar + battery4510 MW
Natural gas366 MW
Hydro13 MW

Who runs the waiting list in Minnesota

Grid operator or utilityRequestsCapacity pending
MISO28518.7 GW
SPP631 MW
WAPA-IS70 MW

Counties in Minnesota

24 with power on the waiting list

Every county with at least five requests on file. Open one to check an address, or see the schools near any mapped data center.

CountyWaitingCapacity queuedAlready built
Redwood County61.5 GW0 MW
Goodhue County51.1 GW0 MW
Olmsted County61.1 GW200 MW
Mower County51.0 GW300 MW
Lyon County4935 MW20 MW
Clay County3920 MW11 MW
Dakota County6888 MW4 MW
Murray County4730 MW170 MW
Cottonwood County3700 MW0 MW
Benton County4699 MW200 MW
Chisago County4550 MW0 MW
Wabasha County3500 MW0 MW
Yellow Medicine County3368 MW0 MW
Otter Tail County2360 MW0 MW
Freeborn County2350 MW0 MW
Jackson County2350 MW0 MW
Renville County2325 MW0 MW
Rock County2302 MW280 MW
Nobles County1200 MW200 MW
Polk County1150 MW0 MW
Sherburne County3142 MW200 MW
Faribault County00 MW450 MW
Lincoln County00 MW110 MW
Pipestone County00 MW125 MW

Key dates for projects here

1 dated · next closes 2027-09-10 (MISO)
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
MISOMISO DPP-2026 Definitive Planning Phase application deadline
Attachment X of the tariff and BPM-015.
2027-09-10confirmed source
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source
SPPSPP 2028 CPP Interconnection Cluster Study (ICS) application window
Definitive Interconnection System Impact Study cluster, post Order 2023 compliance.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

Data center campuses recorded in Minnesota

1 listed
CampusOperatorReported demand
Meta RosemountMeta178 MW

Tagged as a data center by our classification, not by the operator’s own statement. Only campuses with coordinates can be mapped.

Live in Minnesota?

Check how far the nearest large data center is from your own address. Free, and your address is not stored.

Check my address Open the map All states